The Homework Newsletter

The HomeWork: November 22, 2023

November 22, 2023

Welcome to the November 22, 2023 Main edition of The Homework, the official newsletter of California YIMBY — legislative updates, news clips, housing research and analysis, and the latest writings from the California YIMBY team.

News from Sacramento

Hot off the presses!

The State Assembly just announced their committee assignments for the 2024 legislative session. The following Assemblymembers were appointed Chairs of their respective Committees:

  • Budget Committee: Assemblymember Jesse Gabriel (D-Encino)
  • Appropriations Committee: Assemblymember Buffy Wicks (D-Oakland)
  • Arts, Entertainment, Sports, and Tourism Committee: Assemblymember Mike Gipson (D-Carson)
  • Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials Committee: Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella)
  • Health Committee: Assemblymember Mia Bonta (D-Alameda)
  • Human Services Committee: Assemblymember Alex Lee (D-San José)
  • Housing Committee: Assemblymember Chris Ward (D-San Diego)
  • Rules Committee: Assemblymember Blanca Pacheco (D-Downey)
  • Labor and Employment Committee: Assemblymember Liz Ortega (D-San Leandro)
  • Governmental Organization Committee: Assemblymember Blanca Rubio (D-Baldwin Park)
  • Natural Resources Committee: Assemblymember Issac Bryan (D-Los Angeles)
  • Privacy and Consumer Protection Committee: Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D-San Ramon)
  • Public Safety Committee: Assemblymember Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento)
  • Utilities & Energy Committee: Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris (D-Irvine)
  • Water, Parks, and Wildlife Committee: Assemblymember Diane Papan (D-San Mateo)
  • Transportation Committee: Assemblymember Lori Wilson (D-Suisun City)
  • Judiciary Committee: Assemblymember Ash Kalra (D-San José)
  • Budget Subcommittee No. 1 on Health: Assemblymember Akilah Weber (D-La Mesa)
  • Budget Subcommittee No. 2 on Human Services: Assemblymember Corey Jackson (D-Moreno Valley)
  • Budget Subcommittee No. 3 on Education Finance: Assemblymember David Alvarez (D- San Diego)
  • Budget Subcommittee No. 4 on Climate Crisis, Resources, Energy, and Transportation: Assemblymember Steve Bennett (D-Ventura)
  • Budget Subcommittee No. 5 on State Administration: Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva (D-Fullerton)
  • Budget Subcommittee No. 6 on Public Safety: Assemblymember James Ramos (D-San Bernardino)
  • Budget Subcommittee No. 7 on Accountability and Oversight: Assemblymember Avelino Valencia (D-Anaheim)

These are the first full committee assignments for Speaker Robert Rivas, who took on the role after former Speaker Anthony Rendon stepped aside in June of this year.  California YIMBY extends our congratulations to all the new appointed Chairs and Committee members; we look forward to working with these committees to help make California more affordable and equitable for everyone. 

The State Senate has yet to announce their committee assignments; stay tuned to future editions of The Homework, and follow the California YIMBY Twitter channel, @cayimby, to stay up to date on developments on legislative policy committees and related news.

Important dates to know:

  • The legislature is back in session on January 3, 2024. 
  • For those who are tracking two-year bills, January 19, 2024, is the last day for any committees to hear and report to the Floor bills introduced in that house in the odd-numbered year.

California YIMBY is also in the final stages of developing our legislative package for the 2024 legislative year. More to come on our priority bills in the coming weeks.

Houser Headlines

YIMBY Social – Top Posts

Share the good word

We welcome your ideas and feedback — send story tips and ideas to

Want to receive this in your inbox? Sign up to get it here.